Create, change, or customize a view - Outlook

*Each Outlook folder, such as Inbox and Calendar, displays its items in a layout called a view. And each folder has several predefined views that you can choose from, or you can create custom views.

 

*A view is composed of a view type, fields, colors, fonts, and many other settings, and gives you different ways to look at items in a folder. You can build a new view based on an existing one, or you can create a new, custom view.

 

Create a new view

  1. On the View tab, in the Current View group, choose Change View > Manage Views.
  2. In the Manage All Views dialog box, choose New.
  3. In the Create a New View dialog box, enter a name for your new view, and then choose the type of view.
  4. Under Can be used on, accept the default setting of All Mail and Post folders or choose another option, and then choose OK.
  5. In the Advanced View Settings: New View dialog box, choose the options that you want to use, and then choose OK.
  6. To use the view immediately, choose Apply View.

 

Build a view based on Predefined view

  1. On the View tab, in the Current View group, choose View Settings.
  2. In the Advanced View Settings: Compact dialog box, under Description, choose the button associated with the settings you want to change, make your changes, and then choose OK when finished.
  3. On the View tab, in the Current View group, choose Change View > Manage Views.
  4. UnderViews for folder, select Current view settings.
  5. Click Copy, and in the Copy New View dialog box, in the Name of new view box, enter a name.
  6. Under Can be used on, accept the setting of All Mail and Post folders or choose another option to change where the view is available.
  7. Choose OK when you're finished.

 

Delete a custom view

IMPORTANT: You can't delete a predefined view, even if you changed its settings.

  1. On the View tab, in the Current View group, choose Change View > Manage Views.
  2. Under Views for folder, select the custom view that you want to remove.
  3. Choose Delete, confirm deletion, and then choose OK.