Power BI and Data Center Moves

During and after your data move

 Applies to: Office 365

Topic Last Modified: 2016-11-03

Data for other services, including Yammer and Power BI

We only move customer data for Exchange Online, SharePoint Online, and Skype for Business. We do not move data for other services. There is no change or impact to you as a customer or user of these other services: the move process does not influence them and the location of their customer data remains unchanged.

Data moves are a back-end operation with minimal impact to end-users. No action is required while Microsoft moves each service and associated data for your tenant to a new datacenter region. Data transfer and validation occur in the background in advance with minimal impact to users.

Note:

Moves occur at different times for each service. As a result, you'll see the described reduced functionality for each service at a different time.

Watch the Office 365 Message Center for confirmation when moves for each of Exchange Online, SharePoint Online, and Skype for Business are complete. As documented in the table below, it can take up to 24 months, after the end of the enrollment period, to complete all the requested data moves for all customers in a specific region. If you see any issues with your tenant after the move, contact Office 365 Support to get assistance.

 

Customers with billing address in

All moves completed by

Japan

October 31, 2018

Australia, New Zealand, Fiji

October 31, 2017

India

October 31, 2018

Canada

October 31, 2018

United Kingdom

February 28, 2019

South Korea

To be determined

Exchange Online

Because it takes time to move each user to the new datacenter region, some users will still be in the old datacenter region during the move, while others will be in the new datacenter region. This means that some features that involve accessing multiple mailboxes won't fully work during a period of the move process. The following table explains what to expect when users access Office 365 services during a portion of the move.

 

Features that work during entire move

Features that may be limited during a portion of the move

  • Email access: users can read and send email
  • Email delivery
  • Free busy notification
  • Outlook can be used to send and receive messages
  • eDiscovery: eDiscovery through the Exchange Admin center can only act on users in one datacenter region. There's no impact to using eDiscovery through the recommended Security and Compliance Center.
  • Public folders: If the public folder is temporarily in a different datacenter region than the person trying to access it, they won't be able to access it.
  • Shared Mailbox: While the user is temporarily in a different datacenter region than the shared mailbox, users won't be able to access the shared mailbox.

All users will have full access to email including sending and receiving at all times during the cut-over. Users may need to restart Outlook and Outlook on the web after the mailbox is moved as described in KB 2591913 .

SharePoint Online

When SharePoint Online is moved, data for the following services are also moved:

  • One Drive for Business
  • Project Online
  • Project for Office 365
  • Office 365 Video services
  • Office Online
  • Office 365 ProPlus
  • Visio Pro for Office 365

After the completion of your SharePoint Online move, you may see the following effects:

  • Office 365 Video Services
    • The data move for video takes longer than the moves for the rest of your content in SharePoint Online.
    • After the SharePoint Online content is moved, there will be a time frame when videos aren’t able to be played.
    • We are removing the trans-coded copies from the previous data center and transcoding them again in the new data center.
  • Your search index is automatically re-crawled and the Office Graph is rebuilt. In most cases this will take 24 - 48 hours. During this period, you'll still be able to use search features, but the following features will have reduced functionality:
    • Search results and Search Web Parts: Items that haven't been re-crawled will not be shown.
    • Delve: Items that haven't been re-crawled will not be shown. Content will look different until the Office Graph has been rebuilt, however this will improve as users interact with items across Office 365.
    • eDiscovery: Items that haven't been re-crawled will not be shown.
    • Data Loss Protection (DLP): Policies will not be enforced on items that haven't been re-crawled.
    • When search index crawling has finished, freshness and relevancy of the features listed above will be consistent with prior to your datacenter move

Skype for Business

All users will be signed out from the Skype for Business client software during cut-over. The automatic sign-in will reconnect users within 2 minutes.

 

Features that work during entire mmove

Features that may be limited during a portion of the move

  • Instant messaging and voice calls
  • Users can add contacts, add contact groups, add meetings, set their location, and change "What's Happening Today".
  • Audio Conferencing Provider (ACP) settings are copied to the target datacenter region. If the ACP provider is present in the target datacenter, it will work. Otherwise, it will not.
  • Tenant Admin TRPS (Tenant Remote PowerShell) will not be available for administrators to create sessions.
  • Tenant administrator LAC will not be available for administrators to sign-in and change user settings.

 

After the Move

  • Meeting data (uploaded presentations, etc.) will not move and will need to be re-uploaded.
  • Older Lync clients, such as the Lync 2010 client and Lync for Mac 2011 client, are known to cache DNS information to the service causing sign-in issues. Clearing the DNS cache may be required if the user is not on the latest Skype for Business Windows client. Users should be instructed to run the troubleshooting wizard and follow directions on how to clear the client cache. Lync for Mac client users should follow these instructions.