Assign or unassign licenses for several users at once

In addition to assigning or unassigning licenses for single users, you can also do this in bulk.

CAUTION: When a user’s license is removed, all data that is associated with that user account is held for 30 days. After the 30 day grace period, the data is deleted and can’t be recovered, except for documents that are saved on SharePoint Online. 

  1. Sign in to Office 365 with your work or school account as a global admin. Learn how to sign in.

  2. Select the app launcher icon Office 365 app launcher icon in the upper-left and choose Admin.

  3. Do one of the following:

    • In the Office 365 admin center, choose Users > Active Users.

    • Under users & groups, choose Add users, reset passwords, and more (for Office 365 small and midsized business subscriptions that were purchased through a partner).

  4. Select the boxes for the names of the users who you want to assign or unassign licenses for.

  5. On the right, choose Edit.

    Screen shot of the menu that is displayed when several users are selected, with the Edit button highlighted.
  6. On the details page, choose Next.

  7. On the settings page, choose Next.

  8. On the assign licenses page, do one of the following:

    • To assign licenses to the selected users, select Add to existing license assignments, and then select the check boxes for the licenses that you want to assign.

    • To unassign licenses from the selected users, select Replace existing license assignments, and clear the check boxes for the licenses that you want to unassign.

    Screen shot of the assign licenses page that is displayed when you add or replace licenses for several users at the same time.
  9. Choose Submit > Finish.