Delete or restore users

Delete users

To delete the account for one or more users

  1. Sign in to Office 365 with your account.

  2. Go to the Office 365 admin center.

  3. Go to Users > Active Users.

  4. Choose the names of the users that you want to delete, and then select DELETE Delete.

  5. In the confirmation box, select Yes.

When you delete a user account, the account becomes inactive. However, for approximately 30 days after you have deleted it, you can restore the account and the associated data.

 

Restore one or more users

When you restore a user account within 30 days after deleting it, the user account and all associated data are restored. The user can sign in with the same work or school account. Their mailbox will be fully restored, and they'll have access to all services they previously accessed.

Before you restore a user account, make sure there are Office 365 licenses available that you can assign to the account. Also, when you restore an account, you may encounter conflicts with user names or proxy addresses, which you can resolve.

To restore one or more users

  1. Go to Users > Deleted users.

  2. On the Deleted users page, choose the names of the users that you want to restore, and then select Restore users.

  3. If the user is successfully restored, clickClose in the confirmation box.

 

Restore a user that has a user name conflict

A user name conflict occurs when an admin deletes a user account, creates a new user account with the same user name (either for the same user or another user with a similar name), and later tries to restore the deleted account.

To resolve a user name conflict, you can either replace the active user account with the one that you are restoring or assign a different user name to the account that you are restoring so that there aren’t two accounts with the same user name.

To restore a user that has a user name conflict

  1. Go to Users > Deleted users.

  2. On the Deleted users page, choose the names of the users that you want to restore, and then select Restore users.

Note:  If two or more users fail to be restored, an error message advises you that the restore operation failed for some users. View the log to see which users were not restored, and then restore the failed accounts one at a time.

  1. On the User name conflict page, do one of the following:

    • If you want to keep the restored account and the conflicting active account, select Change the user name of the user you want to restore, type a new user name, and then select the appropriate domain name.

    • If you want to remove the active account and replace it with the account that you are restoring, select Replace active user with this deleted user.

  2. Select Submit.

  3. Review the results, and then select Finish.

 

Restore a user that has a proxy address conflict

A proxy address conflict occurs when an admin deletes a user account that contains a proxy address, assigns the same proxy address to another account, and then tries to restore the deleted account.

To restore a user that has a proxy address conflict

  1. Go to Users > Deleted users.

  2. On the Deleted users page, check the names of the users that you want to restore, and then select Restore users.

 

Note:  If two or more users fail to be restored, an error message advises you that the restore operation failed for some users. View the log to see which users were not restored, and then restore the failed accounts one at a time.

  1. On the Resolve proxy address conflict page, if you want to restore the user account and delete the proxy addresses attached to that account, select Submit.

Note:  If a user account contains more than one error that prevents you from restoring it, the Resolve proxy address conflict page displays a Next button instead of a Submit button. Select Next to resolve the error on the next page.

  1. Review the results, and then select Finish.